Town Council

Roles & Responsibilities
Council is the governing body of the municipal corporation of the Town of Nanton. Nanton’s Council consists of six Councillors and one Mayor. These positions are elected for a four-year term, beginning 2014.

The principle role of the council is to create policy for the governance of the town and its residents. The forum for local government policy making is the Regular Council Meeting. The Council relies on input from many sources, including the public, various community organizations, citizen’s groups, advisory committees and staff. It is the Council’s responsibility to consider the merits of each idea before proceeding with its decision. In doing so, Council members analyze community needs, program alternatives, and available resources.


  • 7 p.m.
  • First and third Monday of each month (one per month in July and August)
  • Council Chambers at the Nanton Fire Hall, 2503-21 Ave.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

Boards, Committees, and Commissions
Members of Council sit on several different boards, committees, and commissions. Some of these include the Municipal Planning Commission, Subdivision and Development Appeal Board, Assessment Review Board, General Government Services Committee, Protective Services Committee, and the Public Services Committee.

Committee Representation

The Town of Nanton Council receives requests for formal proclamations by groups and organizations who wish to raise awareness on an event, or provincial/national day or month. A declaration of proclamations is at the discretion of the Mayor, therefore proclamations should be requested for community improvement through education and awareness.